America's most dark and dangerous band

I watched ‘When You’re Strange’ a documentary on The Doors by Tom Dicillo. This is the second time I’ve seen it, but after listening to The End this morning in the shower, I felt like hanging out with The Doors today. Jim Morrison fascinates me. I love his poetry and his music. I wonder what demons were trapped inside his head that he couldn’t escape from except through drugs and alcohol. Or was he merely emulating one of his literary heroes -Arthur Rimbaud, the French poet who wrote in a letter to Paul Demeny: >“A poet makes himself a visionary through a long, boundless, and systematized disorganization of all the senses. All forms of love, of suffering, of madness; he searches himself, he exhausts within himself all poisons and preserves their quintessence. Unspeakable torment, where he will need the greatest faith, a superhuman strength, where he becomes among all men the great invalid, the great accursed - and the Supreme Scientist! For he attains the unknown! So what if he is destroyed in his ecstatic flight through things unheard of, un-nameable…”

The poet as a thief of fire, much like Prometheus.

Soulcruzer @soulcruzer